Monday, May 27, 2013

SPOCK'S BEARD: "Brief Nocturnes And Dreamless Sleep"

Rating: RRRR
Label: Inside Out
Review by Martien Koolen

Spock's Beard have always been one of my favourite prog rock bands even when Neal decided to leave I still cherised their music and albums. Their last release X (2010) was a masterpiece which was very underestimated altough the reviews were all excellent. Now we have a Spock's Beard album without Nick D'Virgilio, drummer and lead singer from the very first Beard line up and the result Brief Nocturnes... is again wonderful. The lead singer is now no one less than Ted Leonard from Enchant and the new drummer is Jimmy Keegan. The album kicks off with Hiding Out, a great track written by Leonard, who also composed the fourth track called Submerged. Afterthoughts, written by Neal and Alan Morse is a song totally in the vein of theThoughts-series: meaning a capella vocal parts included. Highlight for me is Something Very Strange, a true prog rock classic to be. Waiting For Me is the only epic song of the album, clocking just over twelve minutes and it is a marvellous end to this great album. Just check out the amazing guitar solo in that track by Alan. Brief Nocturnes is a MUST for prog lovers and Spock's Beard is still going strong. Hope to see them in the flesh soon with this new line up and album!!

No comments:

Post a Comment